Download the one solar app
CDSL Targets Redemption

COLEGIO DE San Lorenzo will be pinning its title hopes on the broad shoulders of arguably the league’s best big man in Jun Gabriel when the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) opens its 17th season on August 17, 2017 at the Cuneta Astrodome in Pasay City.  Gabriel though will need help if the Griffins hope to snare a championship in their second year of participation.

Help for the 6’6” Gabriel is on the way in the person of 6’5” Soulemane Chabi Yo, an exchange student from Benin.  The very athletic Chabi Yo has been impressive in their tune-up games leading to the NAASCU and should allow some of the players to slide back to their natural positions after being forced to play either center or power forward.

Shooter Jan Dominic Formento will now play for the Seniors after lighting up the Junior Division last season.  Also returning for another tour of duty are guards James Alvarado, Charles Callano, Rustom Borja and Thristan Laman and forwards Louie Vargas and Rick Baldevia.

Other slots in the team will be filled up by transferees and rookies in Joseph de la Cruz, Denis Nuyda, Daniel Paclarin, Edcel Rojas and Raymart Sablan.  Veteran coach Boni Garcia remains at the helm of the Quezon City-based school as he hopes for redemption after a forgettable rookie year in the league.

2016 was a disappointing debut for highly touted CDSL squad in the NAASCU after carrying with them a resume of championships and unbeaten seasons in previous leagues that they joined.  The Griffins had a roller coaster campaign and finished with a 6-7 win-loss record and failed to make the eight-team playoffs.

Fast forward to today and Coach Garcia is upbeat about the prospect of playing twin towers Gabriel and Chabi Yo and complemented by a solid veteran crew and promising newcomers.  The Griffins will play the Manuel L. Quezon University Stallions on opening day starting at 8:00 AM.

This story originally appeared on

* Minor edits have been made by Solar Digital Editors.